WHAT CAN WE LEARN FROM THE TSUNAMI?

Posted: March 11, 2011 in Current Events

When I woke up this morning I heard about the quake in Japan and the tsunami.  I immediately did two things.  Turned on CNN and turned on my computer.  We all have the need for the latest information and we want it IMMEDIATELY.  That makes one thing painfully obvious:  the days of the newspaper are OVER!

If I want the latest information on the tsunami I go to CNN or surf the web.  I’m not gonna have to wait until the paper gets delivered.  That’s one of the great advantages of radio; instant gratification and the ability to interact with listeners.  If you are just playing a ton of music and commercials in the morning then you are ignoring the one great advantage radio has to offer.  If you are playing a bunch of music because the people you have on the air CAN’T engage your listeners then find someone who can.  It’s really that simple.

Leave a Reply

